Faculty

Section 1

Main Content

Philosophers at Illinois are concerned with a variety of problems of particular contemporary interest. Through courses they teach and work they publish on these issues, they are contributing to the recent expansion of the compass of philosophy. They likewise enable students to become acquainted with these developments and to pursue their own interests along these lines.

Department Faculty | Affiliated and Visiting Faculty | Emeriti

Department Faculty

NameTitleEmail AddressResearch keywords
Ben-Moshe, NirAssistant Professornir@illinois.eduEthics, Metaethics, Practical Reason, Moral Psychology, Scottish Enlightenment, Biomedical Ethics
Bojanowski, JochenTeaching Assistant Professorjob39@illinois.eduEthics, Political and Legal Philosophy, Kant
Bryan, BenjaminLecturerbenbryan@illinois.eduEthics, Political and Legal Philosophy
Gilbert, DavidLecturerdaveg@illinois.eduLogic, Philosophy and Foundations of Mathematics
Hillmer, PhilipLecturerhillmer@illinois.eduEngineering Ethics
Korman, DanielAssociate Professordzkorman@illinois.eduMetaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Metaontology
Livengood, JonathanAssistant Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studiesjlive@illinois.eduPhilosophy of Science; Metaphysics; Experimental Philosophy
McCarthy, TimothyProfessortgmccart@illinois.eduLogic, Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Mathematics
Murphy, ColleenProfessorcolleenm@illinois.eduSocial and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Engineering Ethics
Newton, AlexandraAssistant Professoramnewton@illinois.eduMetaphysics, Kant
Saenz, NoelAssistant Professornbsaenz@illinois.eduMetaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Mind
Sanders, KirkAssociate Professor, Department Headksanders@illinois.eduAncient Philosophy (Greek and Roman)
Sussman, DavidAssociate Professor, Director of Graduate Studiesdsussman@illinois.eduEthics, Social & Political Philosophy, Moral Psychology, Kant
Varden, HelgaAssociate Professorhvarden@illinois.eduPolitical and Legal Philosophy, Kant, Feminist Philosophy
Weaver, ChristopherAssistant Professorwgceave9@illinois.eduPhilosophy of Science/Physics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion
Weinberg, ShelleyAssociate Professorweinberg@illinois.eduEarly Modern Philosophy (esp. Locke)

Affiliated and Visiting Faculty

NameTitleEmail AddressResearch keywords
Renear, AllenProfessorrenear@illinois.eduOntologies for Data Curation and Scientific Publishing
Hummel, JohnProfessorjehummel@illinois.eduPsychology, Experimental Philosophy, Cognitive Science
Hurd, HeidiProfessorhhurd@illinois.eduLegal Philosophy; Political Philosophy
Kar, RobinProfessorrkr@illinois.eduContract Law, Economics
Lasersohn, PeterProfessorlasersoh@illinois.eduFormal Semantic Theory, Pragmatics, Mathematical Linguistics, Philosophy of Language
McKim, RobertProfessorrmckim@illinois.eduPhilosophy of Religion, Modern Philosophy (esp. Berkeley), Applied Ethics
Orlie, MelissaAssociate Professororlie@illinois.eduPolitical Theory, Psychoanalysis, Environmental Philosophy
Rosenstock, BruceAssociate Professorbrsnstck@illinois.eduGerman Philosophy, Jewish Philosophy, Political Theology

Emeritus Faculty

NameTitleEmail AddressResearch keywords
Chandler, HughEmeritushchandle@illinois.eduMetaphysics, Ethics, Philosophy of Mind
Maher, PatrickEmeritusmaher1@illinois.eduPhilosophy of Science, Philosophy of Probability
Melnick, ArthurEmeritusamelnick@illinois.eduKant, Metaphysics, Logic
Mohr, RichardEmeritusrdmohr@illinois.eduAncient Philosophy (esp. Plato), Social and Political Philosophy
Neely, WrightEmeritusw-neely@illinois.eduPhilosophy of Action, Early Modern Philosophy, American Philosophy
Schacht, RichardEmeritusrschacht@illinois.eduContinental Philosophy (esp. Nietzsche, Hegel), Human Nature, Value Theory
Schroeder, WilliamEmerituswschroed@illinois.eduContinental Philosophy (esp. Hegel, Sartre, Merleau-Ponty), Ethics
Shwayder, DavidEmeritusshwayder@illinois.eduMetaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Practical Reason
Wagner, StevenEmeritusstevenw@illinois.eduPhilosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Logic
Wallace, JamesEmeritusjwallace@illinois.eduEthical Theory, Biomedical Ethics, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Aesthetics
Wengert, RobertEmerituswengert@illinois.eduMedieval Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, Logic